Mapping the Music is a  sonic exploration of the sculptural work of Barbara Hepworth by composer and director Supriya Nagarajan.

In this newly commissioned audio work, a selection of Hepworth’s sculptures are carefully three-dimensionally mapped and translated into musical compositions that follow the rise and fall of their ridges and curves. The resulting sonic journey will emulate the gentle nuanced forms of the sculptures, while being informed by her life and artistic journey.

This will be a multi-lingual, multi-cultural musical event that looks at Hepworth’s work through a diverse lens. Nagarajan will work with sound artist Duncan Chapman for the development of the piece, alongside other artists.

Performance Date

Saturday 19 Feb 2022 / 2pm

The Hepworth Wakefield / Gallery Walk, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 5AW / Book Online

Supriya Nagarajan (Voice and composition)
Duncan Chapman (Soundscape)
Lucy Nolan and Becki Luff (Chroma Harp) – Harp
Delia Stevens – Percussion
Hari Bhaskar – Composition